Oparanya, Wa Iria, given nod to head COG for a second term

Council of Governors chairman Wycliffe Oparanya, left and his vice Mwangi Wa Iria
Council of Governors chairman Wycliffe Oparanya, left and his vice Mwangi Wa Iria [PHOTO/COURTESY]

Kakamega County Governor Wycliffe Oparanya has received solid support to proceed for a second and final one-year term as the chair of the Council of Governors. The decision, which was arrived at by consensus, also saw the Vice-Chairman who is also Murang’a County Governor Mwangi Wa Iria, reinstated into his position while his Makueni counterpart Kivutha Kibwana will continue with his service as the council’s chief whip.

Speaking shortly after the exercise, Wa Iria lashed out at the media for what he termed as an attempt to portray the elections as chaotic, contrary to the reality.

“The council of governors is an organized organization. The elections were by consensus and without any acrimony, as was being portrayed by the media,” Wa Iria stated.

Oparanya was elected to head the council in January last year after his predecessor Turkana’s Josphat Nanok’s tenure ended after being at the helm for two years.

The council chair serves as a link between the rest of the 46 governors and the national government and as such wields great national power and influence. The holder of the lucrative seat also serves as the vice-chair of the summit, a body that co-ordinates intergovernmental relations between the central government and the counties and one that is chaired by the President.

Others who have held the Chairmanship position at the council before Oparanya include former Bomet governor Isaac Rutto, former Meru governor who is now Agriculture Cabinet Secretary Peter Munya and Turkana Governor Josphat Nanok.